Tiyung Dayak – “The Sour Dayak Apple” in Bidayuh Politics

For the Greater Glory of Bidayuh Politics

Let’s go, girl…!!!

Wow… it’s been a long time since my last post! It’s good to meet you guys online – again! Yup, I’m still alive and kicking though… I’ve been off the net for more than two weeks due to unreliable internet service by the provider. I overheard the other day that the provider is currently upgrading its goods and services. Well, I’m not sure about that, but then I’m really fed up with it.

Yup, I must confess that since my last post, I’m a little bit busy with my work, mostly on report writing, so I don’t have time and idea to update my blog. Well, that’s what a reporter for, lah! In the afternoon – after work (if it’s not raining, lah – I’ll do the gardening – busying myself with “small-scale open burning” (i.e. making baked soil for soil rehabilitation), planting vegetables and sometimes tree seedlings at our residence compound. The effort is satisfying though, where I can watch the beauty of life blooming in front of my eyes! Ya lah, whenever I watch the seedlings grow, I would be more excited, knowing that what I sowed in the beginning is going to be reaped in the end… Well, I thank God for the blessings!

To divert your attention, yes, I’ve met TBS Bidayuh and his adopted dad at Jolly Food Court, Batu Tujoh (Kota Sentosa) on May 28, 2008 – during a hot Wednesday afternoon. Yup, we had teh bueh session – i.e. a week before the fuel price hike on June 4, 2008! I don’t think that we could mesmerize ourselves with the spuloh-empat anymore, lah! EZRich, however, couldn’t join us jollying on that day due to his work commitment.

Then, on June 26, 2008 (Thursday afternoon), I called up Swisserikin – just to find out whether he’s still alive and kicking. Yes, of course, he did! He then promised me that he would be back on track again. Well, I just assumed that he’s still doing some literature search on Dayakism and I overheard that he frequently travels between Kuching and Pontianak to carry out the social survey. Hmmm… it could be, lah!

For the time being, I’ve found a new, online hobby. In fact, I took the interest in this hobby for quite a long time, but then to no avail. Yes, I love map reading and everything that’s related to Geographic Information System (GIS). I was about to specialize in that subject few years back, but then I couldn’t make it. So, I switched to another specialization, lah

I would say that this kind of hobby was found through trial and error. In fact, EZRich is known to be involved in this same hobby long ago compared to mine. It’s exactly the same experience when I first started my blog – without getting any clear direction on what should I do. Luckily, I managed to overcome the obstacles in managing my blog and it’s now kacang already, lah

Talking about my new hobby, well, it’s about flying… Have no surprise, lah! Do you believe that you and I can be e-aviators – even though without getting the ever expensive pilot’s license? Last week (I couldn’t remember the exact date), I browsed through a Chinese daily and saw a picture of CGIFA’s trainee pilots (based at Bintulu Airport) seated in front of their desktops with their hands attached to the joysticks! I murmured to myself, “What the heck… what kind of flight simulator is that?!” I couldn’t believe with what I saw, you know!

And now, I guess that I knew the answer, even though it could not be 100% correct. Do you want to know why? The simple answer – it might be – lies within the Google Earth webware! Well, check it out at Google Earth Blog and download the free software…

After installing and opening the software – depending on the speed of internet connection – you can click on at the menu bar “Tools” to enter flight simulator. Yes, make sure that the internet connection is not intermittent, lah!

And now, you can learn on how to fly – if you have a passion to fly… Yes, always believe that you too can fly and reach for the sky… Let’s learn together (through trial and error) and enjoy the excitement – and of course, be prepared for the air crash!

For more info, just click on this link. Let’s go, girl (Google)… L.O.L.!!!

June 29, 2008 - Posted by | 03 Miscellaneous

3 Comments »

  1. Project: Bengoh Dam
    Main Contractor: Naim Cendera
    Contract cost: RM310.65m

    Naim Cendera website release:
    http://www.naimcendera.com/future2.asp
    CONSTRUCTION OF BENGOH DAM, KUCHING
    Once completed, this 63 metre high by 267 metre long dam will have a capacity of 144 million cubic metres (1m3=1,000kg or 1 tonne) and will produce a lake with a surface area of approximately 10km square. Designed to secure Kuching’s water supply for the foreseeable future, the dam will be only the second in Malaysia to be constructed using Roller Compacted Concrete (RCC) technology, which offers a projected service life of 100 years. The package also includes ancillary buildings, infrastructure and associated works, and resettlement of the affected communities.

    Press release:
    http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2007/7/24/business/18386034&sec=business
    Tuesday July 24, 2007
    Naim gets new project
    KUALA LUMPUR: Naim Cendera Holdings Bhd told Bursa Malaysia that it has won a RM310.65mil contract for the construction of the Bengoh Dam in Kuching. – AFX-Asia

    Sub-Contractor: Sino Hydro Corp. (China)
    Sub-Contract cost: RM145m

    Press release:
    http://www.sinohydro.com/servlet/Report?node=56780&language=1
    Sinohydro Corporation Won the Bidding of Malaysia Bengoh Water Supply Project
    Malaysia Item Department2008-02-20
    In February 2nd the Eighth Bureau of Sinohydro Corporation received the letter officially issued by the owner of Malaysia Bengoh water supply project, the total price is 145,000,000 Malaysia Ringgit (approximately 45,000,000 US dollars), which lays a solid foundation for the develpoment of Sinohydro Corporation in the Southeast Asia market.
    Bengoh water supply project is the municipal administration public facility invested by Malaysia Federal State, which belongs to the international market non-water and electricity project. This project is located in the Kuching administrative area under the government of Malaysian Sarawak State, which is 42 kilometers away from Kuching urban district and the exterior transportation condition is good. The project is the inpounding and intake water project, mainly provides clean water source for downstream 30 kilometer place Batu Water Treatment Factory to solves the clean water source problem of Sarawak State capital Kuching city. The project includes a roller compacted concrete dam, intake water tank structure, upstream boat slope constructure and operating control office. The total excavation amount is approximately 305,000 cubic meters, the roller compaction concrete is 150,000 cubic meters and habit concrete 20,000 is cubic meters. The project is conducted by the way of primary contractor project, the total time limit is to plan to complete in 30 months.

    Contract cost difference:
    RM310.65m – RM145m = RM165.65m

    So the difference go to where?
    Piling jobs? Access road bridges jobs? Blow jobs?

    Wake up Bidayuhs, the leaders Bidayuh YBs MPs basically killed, robbed own Bidayuhs in broad daylight.

    Comment by Mohd. Jamal Burok bin Hamid | July 2, 2008 | Reply

  2. Good to see you on the line again.

    Comment by tbsbidayuh | July 4, 2008 | Reply

  3. THE SHIT OF BENGOH DAM, WHY ISNT TO BE DAMMED. BUT CAN I SAY I T IS NOT WRONG TO BLAMED OUR REMINDED YB MANYIN, AND DAWOS THE FIRST! BECAUSE THEY ARE GIVEN THE RIGHT TO NAIM CENDERA AND THE HELL WHAT IS CHINA COMPANY.
    IF I WERE TO GIVEN EVEN A THOUSAND WHY NOT TO KILL FISRT THE YB! WHERE IS THE BIDAYUAHNS WHY NOT WAKE UP FROM THEIR DREAM. LOOK FOR YOUR RIGHT ON NCR AND ETC. WALK UP NOW, YOU STILL HAVE A CHANCE…BEFORE WE ARE TO BE BLAMED TO KILL OUR YB.

    Comment by wisco | July 16, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

