Tiyung Dayak – “The Sour Dayak Apple” in Bidayuh Politics

For the Greater Glory of Bidayuh Politics

OHHH-HAHHH!!!

OHHH-HAHHH!!! Yes, that’s right! No, No! Not “Hoo-Haa-Hoo-Haa!” lah…

It’s “OHHH-HAHHH!!!“, yeah!

I remember Dyaksblog’s favorite chant, “Ooo-haiii! (Tiyung) Dayak!” whenever he begins his “keynote address“. And I like it! Well, the pitch used by him can be considered as non-brutal or non-heavy metal. I guess that he always use the soft pitch/tone, just like what the famous Malaysian singer – M. Daud Kilau – used to utter during his singing session…

Dyaksblog – I’m wondering where is he now?! How’s the weather at Batang Ai right now, doc? L.O.L.!!!

Yes, “OHHH-HAHHH!!!” is a chant, normally to be uttered during Gawai (the Dayaks’ harvest festival) ceremony, known to the Ibans as “miring“. In Bidayuh, it is known as “Beris” or “Berih” or “Borih” (Is that right, TunA – regarding the last one?). Well, I’m not an expert on chant(ing), so it would be better for me to direct my readers (especially the non-Dayaks – other Malaysians and foreign alike) to this expert for the FAQs session! If not, then GOOGLE Search is another best option, lah

This afternoon, TunA – another nickname for Mr. President (of USA (B)) – has sent me a message. He asked me to help him to promote the “Gawai Dayak Festival 2009” with West Kalimantan (KALBAR or Kalimantan Barat) GovernorBapak Cornelis – to be held at the state palace (or “Astana“) – from May 19 – 21, 2009.

As I don’t want to misquote TunA’s message, kindly check his blog here for details. Or, since he got another new blog, I’ll direct my readers to the itinerary, lah!

Click on the image for the “itinerary” lah...

Click on the image for the “itinerary” lah...

The time is NOW for those who are interested to join in. So, get your money and passport ready for the Ngabang Gawai Visit and meet Bapak Cornelis on the second day of the “state visit” at the State Astana in Pontianak, West Kalimantan…

Me?! I’ll join you guys and gals next time!

Are you coming, Miss Kepayang?

OHHH-HAHHH!!! HAHA!!!

March 13, 2009 - Posted by | 03 Miscellaneous, 06 Product(s) Promotion

5 Comments »

  1. 1. We are organising another big one during the Sept Hari Raya Holiday: 8 days 4WD Safari from Kg-LA-Badau-Putusibau-Sintang-Sanggau Kapuas-Sosok-Tayan-Pontianak-Ngabang-Balai Karangan-Kuching.
    Watch out at same allahsite tonight.

    2. on 4th Dec 2009 to Palangkaraya, Central Borneo, to dine with MADN members and Governor Agustin Teras Narang.

    Comment by United States Of All_Borneo | March 13, 2009 | Reply

  2. Are you coming Miss Universal Bidayuh?

    Comment by United States Of All_Borneo | March 13, 2009 | Reply

  3. Hmm !I love to come and join the funs, but 00,h000 wait first, cannot confirm yet la, Mr. Kepayang may not want to play the baby sitter role.Besides, my mum may wants me to celebrate Gawai in Kampung lah…you know kampung love.My mum already prepared jars of tuah, so if I follow you guys she must be very disappointed. Sorry count me out, maybe next year.Thanks for the invitation,anyway! Just send my regards to Pak Cornelis.

    Comment by Miss Kepayang | March 15, 2009 | Reply

  4. […] Projects, J*bu, Yang Dikasihi |   Warmest greetings to you all Dayaks. Oh well, Ohhhaaaiii Wooo! There you go tiyung dayak, heh! Fine, let us focus now on the b(u)y-election and boy oh boy look […]

    Pingback by Thou Shall Not Steal (…and Bribe?) « The Dyaks Blog | March 16, 2009 | Reply

  5. I have to climb Bung Bratak first on this coming 1st of May. Lets join us since this is a significant history in our Bidayuh community.

    Comment by Universal Bidayuh | March 24, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

